Joel Cohen on What’s My Line

Today, I felt that I was back in the television business.

I live in a community of about 450 homes and we have all kinds of in house diversions to keep people who are retired busy.  You know the kind of things that I mean, from a fully equipped gym to a billiard room, that’s my game.  If I must guess, I would say I’m in the top ten of the players.  We have a lapidary shop, a carpentry shop, a sewing shop, and even our own television station.

The television station is a knock-out.  Really.  They have every thing in that studio to put on a great television show except the talent to do it with.

So the people that like doing that kind of thing are always looking for projects to do and people to do it with.  I’ve had my share of that business, so I more or less have kept what I did to myself.

This one fellow decided he was going to do a replica of the old, “What’s My Line” T.V. game show, and I must say he is doing a pretty darn good job.  For those of you who don’t remember the show, it is simply a panel of people who interview an invited guest and try to figure out what they do for a living.

I like watching the show, and I  am always pleasantly surprised at what some of the folks around here did for a living in the prime of their lives, and what some of the younger people, who are still working, are doing for a living now.

Somehow Jerry found out what I did for a living, and wants me to get involved.  “Sorry Jerry, but that was another life.  I’ll tell you what I will do though.  I think your ‘What’s My Line,’ TV show is really good. If you would like, I will be happy to be one of the contestants on your show.”  Jerry grabbed me by the neck, and made me tell him all about Air Force One: The Final Mission.  He made me feel so good about what Michael and I did – I couldn’t wait to go on the show.

Today, the show aired, I sat back and watched myself on television.  It was a nice feeling.  I haven’t seen myself on T.V. in five years and it was a bit surreal.  I stumped the panel.  In fact, they never even got close to the fact that I was an author, and when they heard what the book was about they kept the camera rolling so that I could show the book to the television audience and explain some of the information in the book.

So, I did the best I could in the short time I had available to me.  Needless-to-say, when I had the chance to tell them to go our website, www.airforceonethefinalmission.com  so that they could get an even better sense of what the book about, I TOOK IT!

Shameless plug?  Not really.  The way I see it, if you are going to be on television you might as well take advantage of it.  Johnny Depp doesn’t show up on the Tonight Show because he didn’t have anything else to do that night, right?

I hope that the people who watched the show get as big a kick out of it as I did.  Today I was on television again, and it felt great.

~Joel Cohen.

About DonnaInk Publications, L.L.C.

Founder - CEO of DonnaInk Publications, L.L.C. (www.donnaink.com) a small woman-owned publishing initiative featuring eclectic authors and their titles or vice versa. Visit today and share in these interesting and unique works!
This entry was posted in Joel's Journal, Joel's Notes, The Backstory, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

